GO FISH

There has been one thing that I’ve been desiring to do and looking forward to in doing these past couple months but couldn’t do due to my busy schedule; go fish. I really don’t have many hobbies but fishing is one thing I love doing. During finals week that was one of my biggest motivators, to finish strong so I can get back to the lake and go do what I love. Fishing was the first thing on my agenda to do after finishing the semester but it took me 12 days, due to vbs and ministry, to finally get out there, and today was the day! 

I had a clear schedule today to do nothing but fish. I felt like a kid this morning getting my stuff ready, filling up on gas, stopping by the bait shop and finding a spot on the lake. Something about getting out in nature and fishing brings me true joy and peace. Fishing is one of the few things that I do where I really clear my mind from all burdens and find rest. 

Literally not even 10 minutes into throwing in my line I caught my first fish of the year and it was a bass! I was ecstatic. That feeling of excitement really is satisfying and only people who fish really can understand that feeling. 


Even though that was the only fish I caught today it was a good day. I’m so thankful for days like this where God allows me to find rest and have fun. Where no worries hold me down and only joy is in my heart. There really is something special about being out in God’s creation and enjoying a beautiful day doing what you love. 

I saw God today. 

Did you? 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

