DELEGATE

A few semesters ago my professor taught me something about a well known story that has remained with me ever since. The story of Jesus feeding the five thousand. Jesus takes the bread and fish, breaks them and gives to him disciples to give unto the hungry people. Jesus didn’t have to use His disciples, if He wanted to Jesus was capable and had the ability to do it on His own, but He desired and wanted His disciples to take part in this great work. This is one of many scenes where we see Jesus delegate and have His disciples be a part of doing Kingdom work. 

People say the best leaders are the ones who know how to delegate. To be honest delegating is something I am very bad at. It’s not that I want all the attention but honestly because I feel bad to ask others to do things I could do. But today God convicted me of that thought. 

First of all I need to change my mindset. It’s not just work and I shouldn’t feel bad but rather we should rejoice all together knowing we are serving God. Delegating in ministry is giving others the opportunity to take part in giving glory to God. 

I’m leading and directing my first VBS this year. There’s an immense amount of work that needs to be done. At first I had the thought to try to do as much as possible on my own but what I came to quickly realize was that, that is impossible. I can’t do this on my own but also I shouldn’t try to do this on my own. 

Like Jesus I must have others join me in serving the Kingdom of God. Tonight I was blessed to have two individuals lend a helping had and prepare with me for our VBS. As I was watching them work so diligently for hours I couldn’t help but thank God for not only giving me the heart and desire to serve but giving others that same heart. 

I saw God today. 

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

