CAN’T BREAK IT 

A couple months ago I made a promise with myself and God that Saturday would be my sabbath. I was really convicted after hearing some lessons on the importance of sabbath and reading an article about how keeping the sabbath was one of the most broken commandments. That’s when I decided this was a change I needed to make and the only day I could find that would work was Saturday so I decided on Saturday’s I would clear my schedule and make time for myself and God. I would allow myself to rest and be free from stress and just have that be a day to refuel in my personal faith but also physically and mentally. Surprisingly I have been able to follow through but I decided early this week that I would have to break this commitment this Saturday. 

I have been drowning in things to do, so I thought I would take all day to do work and also there was a fundraising event in Dayton I was planning to go this morning. But yesterday was one of those days where I felt like I really fell off the edge and I was burnt out. So today God convicted me and challenged me to keep the sabbath I have committed to. Even though it’s hard I felt like I really needed to hit the brakes today and find rest, turn my eyes on Him and breathe. 

At first it was really hard, I wanted to do some things and I felt lazy for not doing anything, but that’s when God kept reminding me that everything was going to be okay. The reality is I stress myself out more than I need to. So today God gave me peace, He allowed me to take a breath, be filled up again and has prepared me to do more this coming week. 

I saw God today. 

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

