ATTEMPTING TO RETURN

Today was my dear beloved sister’s birthday. This year I wanted to do something a little special for her because anyone that knows her will say she truly does deserve it. I talked with the members of Refresh and we planned a little surprise birthday dinner for her. 

Since it’s Wednesday we were supposed to have Refresh and I told my sister she could have the day off and go out to dinner with my parents at a restaurant I made a reservation at, while I would be at church. But I actually cancelled Refresh and had everyone come to the restaurant to surprise her. We don’t usually cancel Refresh for people’s birthdays but I thought this one could be an exception. 

The reason why is because these past few years she has always prepared and planned things for all of our members birthdays. Every month she organizes things to bless others for their special day so I thought we could attempt to return the favor today. 

So after class today I tried to prepare the way she does for others. I got a photo developed of her and the rest of the group, bought a frame, had everyone sign it, booked the restaurant, had one of our friends get the cake etc. As I was doing all this it really had me thinking. 

I’m not really the event planning type and doing this stuff is not my expertise and it ended up being a little stressful. But to know my sister does this stuff all the time willingly to bless others really blessed me. Trying to do what she does really put in perspective how much effort and love she pours out to others all the time and I’m thankful for that. 

I’m glad I was able to atleast attempt to bless my sister on her birthday. I’m also thankful we were able to celebrate with my family and our Refresh family combined. I was able to witness once again how loved she is by others but most importantly by God. 



I saw God today. 

Did you? 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

