JOYFUL NOSTALGIA

It’s only Tuesday and I have been slammed this week with loads of homework to do. It’s been a tad overwhelming but I’m getting through everything pretty well. Even though I try to stay positive stress does seep in to an extent. 

As I was driving to the chiropractor after class I had the radio playing instead of my usually Spotify. I haven’t really updated my playlists for my worship songs and since I listen to them every day I kind of wanted a break. But as I was driving listening to the radio God convicted me of getting back to worship. I didn’t know what to listen to and that is when I remembered seeing a post on Facebook from a worship leader Rick Pino stating he released a new album, so I turned that on. 

The first song that came on was “Lift up your hands” which was actually a song that I saw him perform live when I was at DIscipleship training school in Hawaii. I haven’t heard the song since, which has been 4 years now. The moment I listened to it I was filled with joy. It was extremely nostalgic. 

I could remember being in the Ohana courtyard with about a thousand other brothers and sisters worshipping to this song. Goin back to that memory brought back many emotions, one being true joy and happiness. I could remember that exact moment. Standing in the congregation shoulder to shoulder with my friends, with shorts and a tank top and no shoes, jumping up and down with my hands up praising God. 

I’m glad God brought me back to that time of my life through this song today. I was reminded of a season of my life where I felt free as can be and joyful beyond measure. But what God reminded today was that I can have that heart of worship and be that way here and now. It doesn’t have to just be a past season but I can make it be a current season as well. God has convicted me to be joyful, passionate and free. To not be constrained by my current stresses but rather be free in Him. 

I saw God today. 

Did you? 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

