STUDYING THE WORD

Out of nowhere God suddenly put a lot on my plate all at once. A lot to do and a lot to think about, but I am very thankful that He continues to challenge me and push towards doing more. But to be honest I was feeling a little overwhelmed today. 

While preparing my sermons for tomorrow I faced a dilemma between flesh and spirit. I had to paths in front of me I could take. The first one would be to speak on something I felt confident on, which would make the preparing much more easy and quick. Second option would be to prepare a message on what I really felt God wanted me to, but that would mean I would have to do some studying. Honestly I was in a state of really being overwhelmed by everything but I knew god wanted me to take the latter option so I did. 

So I went to my book shelf and got all my books out that pertained to the topic I would be speaking on which is Paul’s Epsitle; Ephesians. At first I was just reading and studying to fulfill an agenda but more I read more I got sucked into it. It was first out of responsibility but as time passed I was truly enjoying it.

I was able discover so many interesting facts and ideas that I wouldn’t have if I didn’t take the time to look. That’s when I realized how important and beneficial it is to dig deeper and study more. Anyone can deliver a message on what they know and what they are confident about, but that leads to limitations. 

I’m glad that God challenged me today to step out of my comfort zone and be exposed to so much more about His words. He has given me the excitement to share my learnings today to my congregation tomorrow. I have been reminded once more that there is always more that God is trying to reveal, and if we are intentional we can find. 

I saw God today. 

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

