LITTLE BROTHERS

Ever since I was little I’ve always wanted younger siblings. The reason was because I’ve always received loved from my older sister and the love I received from her really impacted my life so I’ve always wanted to have the ability to do so in someone else’s life. I obviously do not have a biological younger sibling but God has fulfilled this dream of mine through church.

Being at the same church all my life I have had the privilege to be an older brother figure in the lives of many kids. But there are a pair of brothers that have always had a special place in my heart. Working for their mom during high school and college I was able to interact with them outside of church which has helped out relationship grow more intimate. 

Today was their last day of winter break and I really wanted to spend some time with them before they started school, especially because the oldest one will be starting his last semester of senior year. Both of them had swim practice but they skipped it to hangout with me. The excuse they gave their coach was that they were spending time with “family”. Even though it wasn’t good they skipped practice it put a smile on my face that they considered me family. 

We spent the whole day together but doing something very unexpected. I asked them what they wanted to do and they said they wanted to go shopping for clothes with their Christmas money but wanted my help getting “swagged up” lol. So I took them to the outlets and helped pick out new outfits for them. I had an amazing time and I was very thankful I could play that older brother role for them even in the smallest way of helping them shop. 

Through them and through today God allowed me to take a step closer in my new year resolution which is to “be love”. My hope for this year is to share the love I have received from God and from others. And today God gave me the opportunity to be love to my brothers. 

I’m beyond blessed to have younger siblings I’ve always dreamed of having and the only way this is possible is because of church and the relationships God has made. Even though I lack in many ways I hope to continue to be the older brother in Christ for them and never stop being used by God as a vessel of love. 

I saw God today. 

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

