ROOTED 

Something that I have always wanted to do was write a worship song. The only thing is I don’t know how to play any instruments or compose music, but it’s something I’ve always really wanted to do. So I talked to one of my friends who is pretty musically talented and we decided that if I write the lyrics he will figure out the melody and all the musical stuff.

Last night as I was alone in my room I spent hours thinking of what I wanted to write. What I realized was that I was thinking too hard of what I thought sounded good rather than what was on my heart. I ended up not getting too far.

But today the opportunity presented itself and I was able to spend time with my friend and really start working on it. Everything started clicking and we made progress but we realized we needed more lyrics, so he suggested that we read verses that the song was based on and think from there. So we read Ephesians 3:17 and Psalm 1:3.

After reading and meditating I gained inspiration and started to tune into my heart and what my song was to God. I started writing what was on my heart, not trying to make it fancy or sound pretty but what the verses meant to me. I believe in that moment God revealed something to me.

In the matter of 10 minutes we wrote the first verse of the song and the chorus.

(V.1)

All that are withered 

All that are shattered 

All that are weak and poor 

Come to the stream of life 

(Chorus)

My roots will fall 

Deep deep down 

In your love 


These words really became my song and the cry of my heart and it was what I needed to hear. The whole time we were making the song I was in a time of worship. It was much more than just creating a new song but rather expressing our hearts.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

