MATURING FAITH

It was quite challenging this past fall sending off some of our youth students to college. But with it being the start of winter break for most colleges, a handful of them came back to Cincinnati tonight. So we had a little reunion and I had the opportunity to hangout with some of them and catch up on what’s been going on in their lives and how their first semester of college has been.

It was such a blessing to hear their stories and witness what God has been doing in their hearts these past few months. It still blows my mind that they are in college now and in new chapters of their lives. But with that it’s obvious that they are in new chapters of faith.

This class is dear to my heart because I’ve known most of them for almost all my life. I’ve seen them grow through the years and have had the privilege to grow with them. Ironically we are now all in similar life stages since I’m still in college too. Therefore it’s awesome that we are able to relate on some things we haven’t been able to in the past.

As I was talking with them it was so obvious that they are all maturing. Maturing in life, academics and faith. God is taking each one of them on a new journey, even though for some it’s not the easiest, but what’s evident is that they are all growing and taking new steps in discovering what it means to be children of God.

One of my biggest fears in ministry and especially with youth group is for someone to go off to college and fall away from church. I am thankful that each individual I talked to tonight is still persistent in their walks of faith and that they are taking ownership of their faith.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

