CLASSROOM WORSHIP

Something I am coming to realize more and more this semester is how thankful I am to be a student at my school; Cincinnati Christian University. There are so many privileges and opportunities to grow in faith if you take advantage. The thing about a Christian university is that God is talked about in every class, but the reality is you can become desensitized. The topic of God and faith can end up being just a homework assignment or class lecture. But it all comes down to how your heart is, and the posture of your heart, because even class can become worship.

Today for our public theology class we went through a liturgy as a class. Our professor passed around a packet with hymns, scripture and response readings. At first I just thought it would be like any other class assignment but it was much more.

We sat around in a circle and we started by singing a hymn together. This is something I’ve never done before in class so at first it felt a little awkward and humorous but deeper we got into my heart started to change. It was just a class activity but that moment was a place of worship.

We weren’t doing this just for academic purposes but rather it was an opportunity for us as a class to worship God together. We have worship opportunities at school with chapel services and such but this was different. It was an intimate time to worship together with my friends but also with my professor.

I didn’t think I would go to class this morning to encounter God and praise Him, but it happened. I am so thankful for that. I am thankful that my classroom isn’t just an academic place but also a place of worship. I am thankful that I could be a part of that with the people around me.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

