WHEN THE LEAVES FALL

Unlike other universities I am luck to have this whole week off for Thanksgiving break. Today was my first day off and I realized how much it was needed. I wanted to take advantage and really do something for myself so I decided to go fishing. To be honest it was not a good trip in the fishing aspect. It was cold, really windy and I didn’t catch anything. But I gained something even better.

I was the only one out there on the big lake and as I stood there with my line in the water I couldn’t help but stare at the trees. The trees with barely anymore colorful leaves, preparing for the winter. That’s when God spoke to me.


Just like the trees I’m going through a time of change. A time where I’m learning to come back to my roots, my bark just like the trees. The leaves are falling, the external things that had my life vibrant for a season disappearing but through that I’m discovering myself more and more. Even though the leaves may fall the trees remain and in the same way God is using this season for me to look at myself for the way I am.

Through this new season I am learning so much about who I am and who God wants me to be. I could look upon this time in a negative way but I have chosen today to look at it as a time where God is preparing me for what is to come.

God truly gave me the peace I was searching for. A peace in my mind and heart. Confirmation that He is continuously doing His works in me and confirmation that I am exactly where I need to be. He is instilled in me an excitement for the season to come, excitement to see what new leaves and colors He will reveal through and within me.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

