GOOD GUY

One of my dear brothers from school insisted in buying me dinner today for my birthday since we won’t see each other next week. I was surprised and thankful that he remembered my birthday and wanted to bless me. So after classes we spent the whole day hanging out and having great conversation before dinner.

As we spent many hours together laughing and talking about life, God, school and faith I was just reminded how blessed I am to have a friend like him in my life. We are very different people, coming from different backgrounds, churches, ages, states, the way we grew up etc. But I am so thankful to have a friend that is so different than I am.

Through the differences he helps me see many things in a different perspective, especially faith. Growing up in the same church all my life I am used to being around believers who are very similar to me; Korean United Methodists. But he is a white American from a Baptist background now in the non-denominational church. Therefore our ways of practicing faith and viewing certain things differ, but not in a negative way. I learn a lot and gain perspective through his views and ways of faith.

I get reminded over and over again through friends like him that the kingdom of God and the brother and sisterhood in Christ is so diverse. But that diversity is what makes it so beautiful. It’s amazing that we practice our faith differently but ultimately are all children of our one Father. I believe God doesn’t look at all differences as negative but He cherishes them, and through meeting more and more “different” siblings in Christ I am starting to gain that appreciation as well.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

