CATCH A SMILE 

Honestly last night and today has been pretty hard on me internally. Being overwhelmed with school work and things to do and a lot on my mind I feel like I hit a brick wall. To be honest in these past 24 hours or so joy has not been on my radar. I’ve been feeling like a robot just trying to get everything done.

To get out of my funk I decided to go to our school chapel service after refresh tonight to have a personal time of worship and to hear God’s words. But through the whole service it was really difficult to stay focused and I kept finding my mind drifting. I couldn’t help but keep thinking about everything I needed to do causing me to be distracted.

After the service, still feeling stressed I went down to the student lounge which is the only place on campus open late, to work on my papers. When I walked in there was half the student body sitting there watching the World Series being quite loud. I decided there is no way I can write my papers with all the commotion and feeling flustered I went to leave and just go home to do my work.

As I was leaving one of my friends who I don’t get to see often asked if I could give him a ride home. I took him but then ended up sitting in the car talking with him for about 30 minutes. That whole time I couldn’t help but smile and laugh. This guy carries this joy that is truly contagious and during our whole conversation I couldn’t help but catch his joy.

All my anxiety and stress was lifted and for that brief moment I was able to get my mind off of everything and just breathe. Because of that I was able to come home and feel refreshed and motivated again to do what I needed to do. I am thankful for moments like that and people like him that remind me to just smile.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

