WHO DO YOU SAY I AM? 

It has been an overall good day, very chill and uneventful. But what I realized while at the gym after dinner was that I wasn’t intentional in seeking God today. So what better way then to dive into scripture.

As I was working out I was in prayer asking God what scriptures He wants me to read tonight. Then He put it on my heart to read my favorite verse Luke 9:24. It’s my favorite and something I try to live by but haven’t read in awhile.

So as soon I got in the car I took advantage of the nice weather, rolled down my windows and opened up to Luke 9. But as I was looking for the set of verses I was intending to read, another set of verses caught my attention. Luke 9:18-20. It wasn’t what I was expecting to read but God caught my attention.

“Once when Jesus was praying in private and his disciples were with him, he asked them, “Who do the crowds say I am?” They replied, “Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, that one of the prophets of long ago has come back to life.” “But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Peter answered, “Godʼs Messiah.””

I’ve realized that I’ve looked past these verses so many times and never really took time to read and meditate on them. The words of Jesus that really stood out to me was when He asks Peter “who do you say I am?”

I’m that moment God really spoke to my heart. I felt like He was asking me that question. Who is He to me. Not who He is to everyone else but to me personally, who is Jesus.

As Christians we tend to overlook this question. We answer it once or twice in our lives and put the answer somewhere in the back of our minds and tend to forget. We say we know with our minds but do we with our hearts.

Tonight was a great opportunity for me to take a step back and really set my eyes and heart upon Jesus once again. Not just the Jesus I talk about, sing about and preach about, but the personal Jesus I have a relationship with. To be reminded of who Jesus is in my life.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

