GESTURE OF KIDNESS

For some reason I was extremely groggy this morning. To be honest during the first service I kept drifting even though the sermon was so good. I had no idea why I felt so out of it. I knew I couldn’t go through out the day feeling this way so I went to God in prayer, asking for energy and excitement to be in His dwelling place.

Then it came to be time for 1:30 service and time for me to give my sermon. As we opened in worship I knew in that moment the Holy Spirit took control. All the distractions of tiredness disappeared and I was genuinely excited and filled with joy to deliver God’s word.

It was the perfect way to end my day at church but I didn’t know God even had more waiting for me. As I walked out to my car one of the elders was sitting in his car right next to me waiting for his wife. As I was about to get into my car he called me over. He reached his hand out and gave me a couple lollipops telling me “good work today”. For some reason that simple gesture from him really touched my heart and I was truly thankful.

As I drove home I couldn’t help but keep smiling thinking about his random act of kindness. When I got home I walked in and gave my parents the lollipops and told them how much it touched my heart. That’s when my dad looked at me and handed me an envelope. I had no idea what it was or why he was showing this to me. I opened it and inside was a check and the name on the left hand corner was the name of the same man who gave me the lollipops. In that moment tears welled up in my eyes and my heart was overwhelmed.

It has been about 10 months now since my dad got injured and hasn’t been able to work. Since he is a small business owner and the only worker at his business he hasn’t been able to work which means no income. It’s been hard but we have been comforted so much by our church family through prayer and encouragement on a weekly basis. This elder wanted to help out. Selflessly through this kind gesture he moved the heart of my family. It was so unexpected and random and in the moment all we could do is be thankful.

I know that this man was able to do something so generous because of compassion and love that God has put on his heart. We are so undeserving to receive such a blessing, but through grace he has blessed us. I cannot put in words how thankful I am to encounter such a beautiful moment and this has encouraged me to continue to serve others in the ways I can selflessly, full of compassion, to show the grace and love of God.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

