HE WOKE ME UP

I had a long night last night. For my theological themes in film class I had to watch the movie “contact” before class today. I thought it would be a pretty short movie so I started it pretty late, but boy was I surprised, it was 2 and a half hours long. While watching it I had to stop it here and there to take notes and by the time the movie was over it was almost 3am. But by that time I was already pretty wide awake so I couldn’t actually fall asleep until almost 5 in the morning…

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I don’t have class until 11 so I get to sleep in a little more than the other days. Since I went to bed late I was nervous that I wouldn’t wake up on time since I’m a super heavy sleeper. I have to set over 5 alarms in 5 minute intervals to wake up and sometimes I even sleep through that lol.

But something weird happened this morning. Even though I slept extremely late I woke up on my own (more like by God’s will) and hour before I needed to. That’s a super rare case for me. Usually if I wake up early I go right back to sleep but today I was wide awake. I was so confused why I was up so early but that’s when I started to get the hints of why God woke me up.

Every Tuesday there is a chapel service on campus, but to be brutally honest I haven’t been since my first semester going to CCU. But for some reason today I really felt like God was calling me to go. I honestly didn’t want to at first, I was thinking about just taking advantage of being up early and relaxing but I had this deep urge and conviction to go to chapel.

I got there right on time and the moment I walked I kind of felt like Moses when he encountered the burning bush. When he took off his sandals because he was on holy ground. That’s what it was like when I walked into the chapel, I just knew I was in the presence of God, that I was called there.

When worship began I was immersed by God’s divine presence. Words can’t explain how I felt. All I knew was the Holy Spirit was in motion in my heart. God broke me down into a genuine and intimate time of prayer at His feet. No distractions, nothing on my mind, only my heart gazing upon God.

It has been such a long time since I’ve experienced such a powerful personal moment with God. But it only got better. When the speaker got up and began giving his message that’s when I knew God brought me there this morning to hear these specific words. He said “I wonder how many people are busy doing “ministry” that we forget to do ministry”.

Those words struck my heart like a lighting bolt. I fully believe that those words were from God for me. It was exactly what I needed to hear and be reminded of. To not be caught up in the busyness of ministry but rather to live ministry in all that I do.

God woke me up this morning with a plan and a will for me. He called my name, brought me into His presence and spoke His words to my heart. This morning was the definition of the saying, “God moves in unexpected ways”.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

