WHAT KEEPS THE CHURCH IN MOTION?

With 2 sermons, youth group and missions stuff today was a busy Sunday to say the least. By the end of the day I was pretty exhausted and all I wanted to do was go home. But right before I was about to leave one of our dear church members came up to me and invited me to a night prayer gather that was being held tonight at church. It was a time set aside for intercession for our church.

It sounded really interesting but to be honest I didn’t really have the desire to go. It has already been a long day and what I desired was rest and some time alone. So I told her I would try my best but didn’t make any promises. But she kept pleading to me that she feels like God really wants me to come. But still I wasn’t motivated.

So after church I went home to eat my first meal of the day around 3. Afterwards relaxed a little and then went to the gym. The whole time while at the gym I was contemplating if I should go or not. Near the end of my workout I was more on the “no” side. But that’s when I was reminded that usually when I don’t want to go to something is when I need to.

Last minute I decided to overlook my tiredness and head back to church at 9. The moment I sat in the sanctuary to prepare my heart I just knew that this is where I belonged. I was meant to be here.


I was the first one in the sanctuary and then a couple minutes after a handful of people started to come in. In total we had about 10 members of our church attend. The average age was probably around 50 and I was by far the youngest one there. But I knew God had something amazing planned ahead.

We sat around in a circle on the floor of the sanctuary. We began by worshipping and then we entered into prayer topics led by our senior pastor. The moment we came together and started praying for the church a fire was lit.


My heart was shaken. I haven’t felt this way in years. To sit there and pray my heart out for my church and to hear and experience everyone’s prayers ring out in the church for the church was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

A revival has started. Just a small group of people that share one heart for the church coming together in prayer and worship. To see how earnest and desperate these people were for our church really touched me. I never knew how diligently people prayed for our church until tonight. People literally crying out their hearts for our church body, lifting up everything to God and giving Him honor and praise.

I was left in awe. That’s when God revealed to that prayer is the true reason our church is steady in motion. These individual and corporate prayers are the true fuel to the fire. To have the opportunity to be a part of something like this was the biggest blessing.

Through this time tonight God has challenged and encouraged me to truly be in prayer for our church. He has shown me the importance but ultimately the power behind these prayers. I am so humbled and thankful. It’s because of people like these that God is able to do His work. A lot of times we look towards the pastors and leaders as the ones who are moving and being the instruments for the congregation but it’s these prayer warriors that are being used as true instruments as well. If it isn’t for prayerful people like this I wouldn’t be able to do what I do as a leader. I’m blessed that God has given me the privilege to see this side of the church. Prayer is the backbone of church.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

