WORSHIP IS THE CURE

I went to bed last night really excited for today. God gave me a passion while preparing for my sermon and I couldn’t wait to get to church. But I woke up this morning feeling really groggy with a bad stomach ache and that started my day off on the wrong foot. I felt extremely rushed in the morning and for the first service I wasn’t as focused as I wanted to be.

So all day I felt out of my groove and not how I usually feel on Sunday’s. Then it was about time to start our 1:30 service and time for my sermon. I felt pretty motivated and had my heart in the right place. But literally in 5 minutes everything went downhill again. We had problems with our PowerPoint and audio and some hiccups with the praise team.

I became extremely distracted. I wasn’t able to give my all during our time of worship because I had to fix the audio and presentation. Then it was time for my sermon and I just did not feel right. So I entered into a time of prayer asking God to move and remove my distractions. I believe that God did do His works even though I wasn’t as complaint as I should have been.

Then after service all I wanted to do was go home and get some rest. But I realized I needed to help do some last minute set up for our VBS that starts tomorrow. I didn’t expect it to take that long but I was at church til about 6 and didn’t have my first meal until 5:30. Overall I wasn’t in the greatest mood.

As I was about to finally leave one of my youth kids asked me for a ride home. To be honest I really didn’t want to take him but decided to anyways.

We got in my car and I turned on some worship music to get my mind off of some things. And that is when God completely touched my heart. I thought it was going to be a simple ride but it ended up being a full on time of worship.

I couldn’t contain myself. I just sang from the top of my lungs and gave my heart to God which I wasn’t able to do all day. I realized I focused so much on myself all day and only cared about how I was feeling which caused me to lose my focus on why I was doing everything I was.

So in the car God met me. He gave me the opportunity to worship Him and give unto Him what I didn’t throughout the day. It helped me put everything back to perspective. To have my heart focused on Him.

Worship is not just a time in church but it’s an action that can be done anywhere at anytime. Even in the car. I’m so thankful and humbled that God allowed such a time for me. That is exactly what I was missing all day. Giving my heart to God in worship.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

