NOT BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO BUT BECAUSE YOU WANT TO. 

Our youth pastor is out of town this week so I had the privilege to lead the youth service tonight. God put it on my heart to spend more time in small groups with discussion and prayer rather than give a sermon. Recently we haven’t been having a high attendance so we weren’t able to break up into small groups but today we had more than enough kids come which was such a blessing.

For our Haiti mission trip this summer the majority of our team is actually youth kids. During our first meeting last week I encouraged everyone to write in a journal and pray daily for the trip. During our small group I was able to have a handful of kids be in my group that are going to the mission trip. We shared about how our weeks have been and when one of our brothers shared I was shocked and humbled.

He said that this past week he has fasted a meal every day and has been in prayer and writing in his journal. We have set days for each member to fast but he decided to fast every day. Not because he had to but because he wanted to.

Honestly it has been challenging for myself to be in prayer every day this week. But to see this brother and his intentional heart was really encouraging and humbled me greatly.

It’s great to witness God moving in his heart and already preparing him for the mission trip. He has been doing what I wish I was. I believe that God has challenged me through him tonight to motivate me to continue to have the heart for this mission trip. I just want to say thank you to him and God for speaking to me.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

