HUMBLED BY WEAKNESS 

Today has just been one of those days where I felt unmotivated and off my groove. Maybe it was because of the gloomy weather, but I just felt like I was in my own little world all day.

If I had to summarize my day with one word it would be “distracted”. I don’t know what it was but I just couldn’t get focused in anything today. And that carried onto this evening at Refresh.

Tonight was our monthly praise and prayer night. I guess I had some personal expectations for it and had internal desires and ambitions for a specific outcome, which did not happen. But rather God revealed Himself to me in a very unexpected way.

Throughout the first half of the worship and prayer time I just couldn’t get myself and my mind and heart to be completely present. But when we started singing the song “Broken Vessels” which is one of my favorites, God spoke to me. Even though I have heard it and sang it countless number of times, tonight was different.

While singing the lyrics God opened my eyes to see how weak and human I truly am. I am broken and I am flawed. And as a man of flesh and sin I can’t do this life/faith on my own strength whatsoever.

That’s when I realized the reason I was distracted and unmotivated all day was because I tried to do everything on my own and without God. He reminded me no matter what He must always be in the equation. If I can’t find strength or focus I must not look within myself but rather above at Him.

I am so thankful for tonight. He has humbled me once again and showed me how much I need Him in all things. Every moment I need to rely on my Father, not my weak and broken self.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

