BACK TO THE BASICS

After seeing Hillsong Worship this last Saturday I have been listening to their albums on shuffle on my Spotify. While driving home the song “This I believe” started playing. They performed it on Saturday as well. So I listened to it on repeat so many times and the lyrics really moved my heart in a unique way.

The lyrics are extremely simple and display our fundamental and core beliefs as Christians. Almost Sunday school like teachings. In the last when I heard this song I didn’t think much of it because I didn’t think it was deep enough for me or as “advanced” I guess.

But today these words truly touched my heart. It took me back a couple steps and helped me just be reminded about what it truly means to be a follower of God. Revealed to me once again what my core beliefs should be. Also that being a Christian isn’t as complicated as what I make it to be at times.

It comes down to just believing and knowing the essential things. The trinity, what Jesus has done, the power of God, and the strength that is in the Holy Spirit.

Many times I get caught up so much in ministry and being a leader and a biblical studies student that I tend to overlook these simple truths. But today I was reminded that it comes down to being able to confess these things.

This song truly humbled me and helped look at my faith in a simple and refreshing lens.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

