PROBABLY WHAT SHE WANTED

Today marked 19 years since my grandma has passed away. 19 years ago today I was only 3 years old. I don’t really have many memories of her. But I am able to know who she is through my family. My parents, my aunts and uncles and my cousins only have good things to say about her. All my life I have always wished I could have spent a little more time with her.

IMG_9918.JPG

From what I know and what I remember I am so thankful for my grandma. She was actually one of the forerunners in our family in faith. Through her my dad was able to truly become closer to God and be the man of faith he is today. If it wasn’t for her and the seeds she has planted in our family, I probably wouldn’t be the person I am today.

All my life my family would always tell me how much she loved me and adored me when I was a baby. They always said she poured so much love on me all the time. To be honest I wish I could remember. After I accepted my calling into ministry my aunt told me that grandma would have been so proud.

Every year for both my grandma and my grandpa we all get together as a family to just to remember each of them. It’s a Korean tradition where the family comes together to just spend time with each other while cooking and eating the foods that the one who has passed enjoyed. For Christian families like ours we do all that but also have a memorial service. In the past years we would always have our pastor come over and do the service, but recently after I have began ministry my family has asked me to do it.

IMG_2762-1.JPG

IMG_2755-1.JPG

Honestly it is not easy for me to do these services. I am always to choked up with emotions and it is just difficult. But as I was reading scripture and giving a quick message I was filled with a true sense of peace. Because I knew in that moment that my grandma was looking down upon me and my family with a smile on her face. We were gathered in her home (which is my house), with her children and grandchildren reading scripture and talking about God. I think that is probably exactly what she would have wanted.

I thought it was quite ironic how we were talking about my grandma’s death and new life in heaven, with Good Friday being yesterday and Easter being tomorrow. Just how Jesus was resurrected I believe my grandma was given new life 19 years ago and has been in the presence of God in the heavens ever since and forever more.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

