THANK YOU JESUS

Good Friday has now come to an end. Wow, what a day it has been. Today was a day where I was truly able to challenge myself in my faith and push myself in ways I haven’t in a really long time. God has opened my eyes in unbelievable ways today.

I had it in my heart that I wanted to live this Good Friday just thinking about Jesus and how He must have felt through all that He went through. While reading through scriptures this week I was reminded that Jesus was 100% human therefore went through the same things that we do as well. He feels tired, hungry and thirsty. I can’t even image how grueling it was for Him as He went through everything before being crucified and the pain and hurt while hanging on the cross.

It is obvious that Jesus was able to get through it all because the whole time He was thinking about His Father and His children. I believe that is all Jesus was thinking about during his times of pain and suffering during the crucifixion.

So I challenged myself that on this Good Friday I will completely devote myself and my time to just think about God/Jesus through fasting and prayer. It was most definitely a challenge. Starting midnight last night I entered my fast. I slept only a couple hours before waking up to go to early morning prayer at 5:30am. After I got back from prayer I took a quick nap and then woke up to spend time reading scripture. After Bible reading I went to a park for a couple hours to just walk around in His creation to think about Him and read some more. I also met up with one of my youth boys there. After the park I came home and spent more time in scripture before getting ready and going to Good Friday service at church

IMG_8511.jpeg

IMG_2520

Ultimately today was an amazing day. I was able to encounter God in ways that I haven’t in such a long time. I felt challenged but intentional in my pursuit of faith. I believe that I was able to be humbled and filled with thanksgiving.

I have been reminded once again today about what the cross truly means to me personally. I am so thankful that God put it in my heart and moved within me to challenge me in going deeper today.

While reading through the narratives of what Jesus had to go through for us while fasting was really refreshing and eye opening. I was able to view Jesus’ sacrifice for us in a brand new lens that I have never looked through before. All I can say is, thank you Jesus.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

