HE ENTERS JERUSALEM

Today marks Palm Sunday and the beginning of Holy Week. To be honest in past years I never really put much thought into Palm Sunday or really even Holy Week. I always just awaited Good Friday and Easter and that was about it. I usually just lived my life during the week until the “holy weekend” without much thought within the week. But while thinking today during church I thought of something.

When you read Luke 19:28-42 it shows the scene that we refer to on Palm Sunday when Jesus enters Jerusalem on His donkey. In this scene we see the crowds of people welcoming Him and praising Him as He enters. But the thought that came to my mind was what did these people do after they greeted Him. What were they doing the next day? They most likely just lived their daily lives without thinking much. Without knowing that by Friday that man they just welcomed into their town will be persecuted, beat and murdered. And this would all happen for them.

This thought I had today was extremely convicting because I am not different from those people but even worse. Why? Because I continue to just live my life at times without thinking about Jesus or praising Him or being thankful even though I know what He has done for us. Those people didn’t know about Good Friday. They didn’t know what was to happen. But us Christians in the 21st century know what Jesus did and know that it was for us.

Therefore I was convicted and challenged to truly think about Jesus and God’s love for us and meditate on the true meaning of Holy Week every day this week. God has put it on my heart to go through scripture that relates to each day of this week and just think about Him. So today’s scripture was Luke 19:28-42.

I received all these revelations and had my eyes opened after this morning’s service. The whole worship set was filled with songs based upon Jesus and what He has done for us. The song that really moved me and put me in a place of conviction was, “At The Cross (Love Ran Red)” by Chris Tomlin.

When I sang the words, “Where your love ran red, and my sin washed white” my heart just crumbled. Through those lyrics I was able to realize once again the true weight and meaning of what Jesus has done for me. After understanding this there was no way I could not come before Him in appreciation. That is why I challenged myself to give thanks and meditate on this through out this week.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

