HOW DID YOU START YOUR DAY?

I went to bed super late last night after studying all night after Refresh for a big exam I had this morning. I was only able to get a few hours of sleep. I woke up a little earlier than usual so I could go to school a bit early to study before my exam. As you could imagine I was not in the greatest shape when I woke up this morning after only 3 hours of sleep. I felt extremely groggy and grumpy. All I could think about was how I wanted to just get this exam over with.

I got in my car and headed off on my commute. I had one of my playlists I usually listen to on shuffle when a song that I haven’t heard in a while came on. It was “Thank You” by Jake Hamilton & Kim Walker. As soon as the song started the lyrics began to really hit me and give me revelation.

I was feeling super down this morning and not in the greatest mood, but this song and the lyrics were exactly what I needed to hear. One of the verses states, “thank you for the pleasures, thank you for the pain”. Throughout the song they sing about all these things to be thankful for but not just the typical things but things that we usually wouldn’t be thankful for too.

The revelation I received was how I need to be thankful, humble and optimistic in all circumstances. While listening to these words while driving to school my eyes began to be open to many things. I was able to realize that there was no reason for me to be in a bad mood but rather be thankful and positive for all things.

This song was able to fill me up with this amazing sense of optimism which led me to be motivated for my day. To be able to remove all my negative emotions and feelings and just strive to be happy and joyful as much as I can. That positive vibe really fueled me for my entire day.

As soon as I got to school I went to the library and I felt extremely focused and motivated in my studies. And when I took my exam I felt very confident and believe that I did a pretty good job. After my exam I decided not to go to my other classes for the day because I had two papers I needed to write by today that I wasn’t able to start on due to studying for this exam. I emailed my professors and both of them were so understanding and encouraging towards my situation. Which put me in even a better mood. So I went home and ate lunch real quick and then headed to Starbucks to work on my papers and somehow I was able to knock them out pretty quickly.

For a day like today where it was filled with just things to do, the usual me would be discouraged, whiny, unmotivated and negative all day. But because of that song this morning and the motivation and joy it gave me I was able to go through today with a positive mindset which led to productivity.

What I have come to know today and realize is how important it is on how you start off your day. The way you prepare yourself and the mindset that you have when you begin your day truly effects the whole momentum and trajectory of the outcome of your day. I am so thankful and humbled that God has revealed this simple truth to me.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

