SISTER

Today was my sister’s birthday. She would probably kill me if I put on here how old she turned but yeah it was a day that marked a new chapter and season of her life. As we took this day to celebrate and think about her God opened my eyes to many things and reminded me of specific things I have forgotten.

So right after class today I went downtown to stop by a couple of her favorite places to pick up some sweets. I went right around lunch time so it was really busy with people all over the streets. As I was walking to the places I had planned I started to sweat because it was so warm today. I’m not going to lie I was not in the best of moods. I was hungry, tired, it was hectic walking around and yeah…

After I got all the things I needed to downtown I drove up about 30 mins back towards home and stopped by an ice cream shop to pick up an ice cream cake with her favorite ice cream in it. I was a little surprised by the price on it but hey, it was worth it and she deserves it. So I hurried back with everything before she got home.

I finally had the chance to wind down a little. So I ate lunch and was watching a show on my computer when I fell asleep. I ended up waking up around 5 (which was not supposed to happen). So I hurried upstairs got ready and with the family we headed out to dinner. My sister asked if I could drive since she was a little tired.

While I was driving everyone to dinner is when God opened my eyes. I was feeling pretty negative all day and felt a little burdened having to do all these things. But that is when God gave me a huge conviction. She does soooo much more for me all the time and just taking some time out of my day to do a couple things for her was hard for me. That is when I felt so guilty and ashamed of myself. My sister gives so much and makes so many sacrifices for me and my family and I need to try to do as much as I can for her.

I should be able to serve her and love her with joy in my heart. Because I know she does that for me. God has just reminded me how thankful I am for such a wonderful sister in my life. I am not near the brother I should or need to be to her but I really do want to try. I will probably never be able to repay her for everything she has done and will do for me but I know that I should always strive to.

IMG_9897.JPG

My sister has so many characteristics and attributes that I truly look up to. When you see her you are able to see without a doubt that she is a creation of God. I am blessed to call her not just my older sister but my sister in faith as well. Thank you God for placing the perfect sister in my life. I couldn’t be the person I am today without her.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

