SMALL TALK

It’s been a long but good good day. A lot of small but exciting things kept happening throughout it. It’s a great feeling to spend your whole day with a smile on your face. Not for any particular reason but just because.

So I wrote in last night’s post about my exam that I had today. Yesterday I was overwhelmed and stressed out about this exam. I spend a lot of time studying last night after my prayer meeting and slept pretty late. But today I believe I saw the fruit of my work. The exam went extremely well and I feel like I did a pretty good job. It was just so encouraging to know that I spent time studying last night and spent time with God and the outcome was awesome.

Because the exam went better than expected I started my day off in a pretty good mood. Then it was time for my final class of the day and I went in with no expectations but found out we had a guest speaker. The guest speaker was actually one of my favorite professors on campus. It was awesome to hear his wisdom because I haven’t had a class with him since my first semester at CCU. So that just put me in a better mood.

After class I went home to eat lunch with my parents. It was just a very chill time, eating and talking about life. Afterwards I watched a couple shows with my dad, which is one of my favorite things to do. Just sitting on the couch watching t.v. and having conversation.

Time flew by and it was about 3:30. I needed to prepare a couple things for Refresh tonight and my sermons for Sunday. So I got ready and headed over to this coffee shop near my church that I’ve been going to for a couple weeks now. When I walked in I was greeted by the barista who I met during my first visit ever to this coffee shop. He remembered my name and everything. I was shocked that he remembered who I was and the things that we talked about the last time I was there.

When I first met him somehow I ended up talking about my church. That is when he shared that he is actually a worship leader at his church. It was awesome to meet another brother in Christ who was just open about talking about Jesus and ministry. So when I saw him today it just made me happy to be able to say hi and have some small talk.

But soon after we said hello, he grabbed another guy from behind the counter (who I thought was a barista) and Introduced me to him. The first thing he told him about me was that I work for my church. Then he introduced him to me and that guy was actually the owner of the coffee shop. While the barista was telling the owner about me, he seemed way more interested in my story than a normal person would. So I figured that this guy was a strong believer.

Then I found out that he is actually a church planter and a pastor as well. He owns the coffee shop but also runs a church near by that he started not too long ago. Then after talking for another 10 minutes I found out that he is an alumni of my college. It was just really awesome to be able to meet someone and a couple minutes later find out we had so many things to relate on and talk about.

After talking with the owner and the barista I got my coffee and then went to do my work. It was about time for them to close so I packed my stuff up and proceeded to leave when the owner stopped me and asked for my email address. He said he wanted to contact me so we can get to know each other a little more.

This whole situation may not seem like a lot to others but for some reason it was really eye opening and touching to me. It was just awesome that I was able to randomly connect with two brothers in Christ that I do not know just because of the commonality of our faith. Even though we don’t know each other we had something to talk about. Jesus.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Leave a Reply

