REST 

It has been one busy week so far and I felt the overwhelming feeling finally hit me today. Not really a feeling of stress but just being tired and exhausted. A lot of times as Christians and especially in my personal life I have the thought to always be doing something to be a good son of God. But many of us have experienced that doing too much can lead to being burnt out. But in reality God cares about our well being as well. He doesn’t want us to serve Him with a heavy heart or feel exhausted. I believe that He wants us to be motivated and filled with energy to serve Him even more efficiently, and to do that we need rest.

A verse that came to mind tonight was Matthew 11:28-30.

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”


I woke up this morning feeling extremely groggy and having no energy to do anything at all. Didn’t want to go to class but still got myself up to go. Throughout my classes I just found myself being very distracted and losing focus. And all I could think about was going home. 

Thursday’s are usually the longest days for me and usually the hardest as well. Having to go to class after a long Wednesday night of Refresh is always a challenge. And Thursday’s are when I leave the house around 10 and get home around 7. But today I got an email that my 3 hour class has been cancelled. I couldn’t have felt more relieved. I believe God knew my state of mind and heart.

So I was able to come home around 2 today instead of 7 and I really took advantage. Ate lunch and fell asleep and ended up taking a 5 hour nap and catching up on missed sleep throughout this week.

When I woke up I had this thought that God does want us to have rest. And how important rest really is for our physical selves and spiritual selves. God is a loving father that doesn’t mind when at times we take some moments for ourselves to recover. He isn’t just a demanding father but a loving one. A God who cares.

But something that I want to emphasize on that God has shown me is that laziness and rest are two very different things. Laziness is just selfish. But rest is what you do after serving God to serve Him even better. Even in creation in Genesis 1 God rests on the 7th day but He rested after He did what He had to do. In the same way I believe we are to rest only after we really give Him our everything. The purpose of resting is to be refreshed and regain energy to be able to give Him our everything again.

I believe that God has given me rest today so I can be ready to serve Him to my fullest this weekend. I am thankful that God is a father who knows what we need. Ultimately, God cares.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

