BROTHERLY VALUE

Today has been one long long day. I am exhausted. But even though it was a busy day with a lot happening, it was great. A joyful day it was indeed.

So I have been at Cincinnati Christian University for about 2 years now. A lot of people that know me may already know that school isn’t really a place I am very social or honestly have many friends. To be honest I probably can only consider a couple people at my school my friends. My mentality has always been to just go for the knowledge and leave. The reason I never wanted to really get social was because I saw so many differences between myself and the students at CCU.

The student body at CCU is not big at all. Actually it is smaller than my High school. But I have walked around like a ghost for these past couple years, not getting to really know many people. But God has opened my eyes to something recently. Which is that these people are my brothers and sisters too and that I should not be judgmental but actually take advantage of this blessing to be surrounded by these people.

So I have been challenging myself to speak up more in class and just say hi to people that walk by. And today was the first time I went and got lunch with one of my friends. Honestly, it was such a great time. We went to Skyline and was there for over an hour just talking about life, our callings, how God is moving in our lives and etc. I realized how big of a blessing it was to just be able to talk and be open to a classmate and just laugh together. For others this may not seem like too big of a deal, but for me I believe God has revealed something to me and finally opened my eyes to something bigger.

Then after lunch I wrote a paper in the library, relaxed for a little and then went to my last class. This class is one I kind of dislike but only because it is almost 3 hours long. For the class today the professor wanted us to do group work and I ended up in a group with two guys who I have been trying to get to know more this semester. Not going to lie I think God put us together for a reason. Because I have never laughed so much or had so much fun doing group work before. The 3 hours somehow flew by.

So what did I get out of today?

To be thankful for the people around me. No matter what try my best to find value in the brothers and sisters God places in my life. It all comes down to what I make of it and there are always possible relationships around, but it is my duty to take advantage. God showed me that school doesn’t have to be dreadful or just a place of academics but it can also be a place I go for joy as well.

A verse that came into mind was Psalm 133:1 which states:

How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity!

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

