THE SNOW WILL MELT

I woke up to an unexpected email this morning saying that classes have been cancelled due to the weather. I was so excited after seeing this email around 9am and decided to take advantage of this snow day and catch up on some sleep. So I went back to bed and ended up waking up around 2pm… Definitely caught up on some rest 🙂

So I went upstairs after I woke up and realized that no one was home because my mom and sister took my dad to physical therapy. So some may already know, but my dad broke his femur in his left leg which where he has Polio, in December after slipping and falling in a restaurant bathroom. Since then he has had surgery, been hospitalized for many weeks and has now been home for a little over a month recovering. It has been two months since the incident and he is still not able to put any weight on his left leg, therefore has been continuously attending physical therapy. The doctors say that he probably can’t fully walk again without a walker for several months. Therefore he has been out of work since the injury and will not be able to open up his shop until he can fully walk again.

Not going to lie, it has been a really hard time for my family with this happening to my dad. I’ve always looked at him as the toughest, most stubborn, man of all men kind of guy. And to see him these past couple months in this weak state has been hard. For the ones who know him know that he is one of the most hardworking guys out there. The dad that I know works almost 80+ hour weeks and sits on the couch and watches T.V only on Saturday nights and never misses a Sunday of church. But currently things are totally different.

For me, just standing by watching him lay there in the living room all day blankly staring at the ceiling, has been very difficult. To try to find the positive aspect of all this has most definitely been a challenge but I have been able to find light in some ways. But today God has opened my eyes to something more.

When my family got back from therapy and I saw my dad coming into the house with his walker, I felt compelled to take some pictures. My dad told me in the past after I got my first DSLR camera that photographers (which I am most definitely not) don’t only take pictures of good and happy things but should be able to take pictures of sad moments as well. But for some reason I never wanted to take a picture of my dad in this current state because to me this is a time that I didn’t want to really remember. But for some reason I felt like I wanted to take a couple pictures of him today.

IMG_1641.JPG

IMG_1650.JPG

After I took these pictures I took some time on my own to just look at them and then I found myself in some deep thought. Then God gave me a revelation. Today was a super cold winter day that produced all this snow. This snow and this cold could cause hard times for some people and bring danger. But for some, like children, this snow could be an opportunity to find joy in such things like sledding or building a snow man. And in reality sooner or later all this snow will melt away and winter will turn into spring. But even when spring comes, it may be a time where people are rejoicing over the warmer weather and pretty flowers, but also a time when people are struggling with dreadful allergies. So what I’m trying to say is that in every season there are positive things and negative things, but what it comes down to is what you make of it.

In the same way, this season for my dad may be seen as a terrible time. But it could also be seen through a positive lens. Maybe God has given my dad this opportunity to finally get some rest, take time to think about Him more and also take time to think about himself more as well. Just like how we could complain about a winter day and say how cold and depressing it is or instead go out and enjoy the snow and have fun. I believe that this season for my dad is a time where instead of us complaining and feeling sad, we can spend more time together as a family and just rest together. This is the first time in all my life where I have been able to spend this much time with my dad, have hours on end of conversation and watch endless amounts of shows and movies together. In a sense I am thankful for this time (which sounds crazy to say).

All this snow will eventually melt and the cold winds will turn into a warm breeze. Like that, eventually my dad will be back up on his two feet and back to doing what he wants to do. God has shown me today, that this current state my dad is in is just like the snow. It will melt away and a new season will come.

Look forward for what’s next but in the meantime make the best of today. Because God works in and through all things.

I saw God today.

Did you?

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

