WHEN THE STORMS COME 

In my bible study class my students and I have a group text where every student is responsible for a certain day of the week to send a bible verse that has been encouraging to them. Today one of my students sent a passage from James chapter 1, which has led me to meditate on this chapter for this week. I will be reading this chapter in sections and praying over these verses so God may reveal His words and revelations for me. (Thank you brother for delivering such great words from God to me today).

Today the verses that stuck out to me were James 1:2-4 which states,

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4 NIV)

These verses revealed a lot to me for several reason. So currently I am not really in a time of trials or struggles, but instead I’m actually in a stage of joy and intimacy with the Lord. So then why would these verses speak to me?

Because I know myself and my tendencies. I know that there will be that moment when the waves come and I am pushed into hardships. There will be that time where trials and struggles will hinder me and make me stumble.

And I know that when the storms comes I will probably be discouraged. Especially after being in such a good place with God right now. And the reality is when you fall from your highest point is when the fall hurts the most and the journey back up becomes the most difficult climb.

God knows my heart. He knows my fears and my worries for the hard times to come. And that is why I believe God shared these words with me today. To prepare me and equip my heart so I will be ready and positive when the bumpy roads appear. Also, so that I will have this wisdom and truth to remind me of why it is necessary for hardships and why it is crucial to overcome them instead of succumbing.

Verse 2 has revealed to me that when trials come my way I should not be in sorrow or heartache but instead be in joy. Be in joy because these walls and barriers will test me and push me so I can grow. So I can learn to persevere and taste the fruit of my perserverance.

The truth is, it is easy to just coast and be content in this “good season”. It’s so comfortable to just be happy with where I am now. But after time passes anything good can become boring. As human nature we get sick of things when we have them for too long. God knows that and therefore has something even better prepared. But how am I supposed to go further if I’m scared to face the hike?

Courage and perserverance are essential in our walks with God. And contentment is what can break us. We are to be hungry overcomers not just complacent human beings.

I believe God is preparing me through these verses for the season to come. He is getting my heart ready for this next step that is ahead. It won’t be easy by any means but if I want more I must be able to persevere when I am called to do so.

God is always willing to go deeper and take us to new places with Him. But the question we have to ask ourselves is, are we willing to do what it takes?

I saw God today.

Did you?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

