HE WORKS THROUGH THE DIFFERENCES

Woke up this morning and looked at the weather app on my phone and it said it was almost 60 degrees. I thought to myself there is no way this is possible in January. So I went and opened the door.. and wow no joke it was almost 60 degrees and mad sunny on a January Saturday morning.

That in itself put a huge smile on my face. Just last night it was near the 30s and in less than 24 hours God made the weather just how I liked it. So i started off my day in a great mood. I needed to get ready to go to a fellowship activity that we had planned with Refresh (The english ministry I lead at church) and the Korean young adult group.

So if you come from a Korean church with an english ministry you all may know that it is not always the easiest to have unity amongst the two. The main reason is because of the cultural and language barriers. But I have a strong belief that a church is one body and one community. So I think it is really important to have intimacy between ministries.

But the reality is it is not an easy task. Well it’s not easy if we try to do it on our own.

So the KM young adult group pastor and I have been talking for awhile now to have a combined fellowship activity with both of our ministries. We both agreed that it was a necessary thing to do, But to be honest I did have some doubts and fears in the back of my mind. This wasn’t the first time we tried something like this but every time we did try to grab food together or hangout it didn’t end up the way we expected. But going into this one, even though I had some worries I felt a sense of optimism.

So we all met up at a pizza place first for lunch before we went bowling. When everyone arrived I awkwardly forced everyone to try to sit next to someone that was not in their ministry. I thought people would be against it or this plan would just blow up in my face but surprisingly it went well.

While I was sitting at the end of the table I looked around to see how everyone’s interactions were and honestly I was pretty shocked. Yes, I could still sense some awkwardness but still I could see how people were being intentional in trying to carry conversation and better get to know each other.

Then we all went to go bowling after lunch. We decided that for bowling we will try our best to split up the teams so each team had a good mix of people but due to uneven numbers it was kind of difficult but it was good enough.

As we were all bowling it was just such a blessing to see everyone cheer each other on, give high-fives and laugh together. This may not seem like much to some people but for me it meant a lot. Seeing people from the KM trying their best to speak in english and to see Refreshers attempting their best Korean really put a smile on my face.

Growing up in this church all my life I could always identify the struggles between EM and KM but I believe and hope that today could be that stepping stone to true unity. I saw God moving through the differences today. I saw God trying His best to bring His children together in harmony and joy.

Today was just fellowship but my hope is that in the future we can join hand in hand in worship, prayer and bible study where we can look beyond our differences and only look at our common interest; God. One day God will make this into a reality. Why? Because I know he wants to see all of His children, no matter where they are from, what language they speak or what their background is, worshipping their father.

I saw God today.

Did you?

Leave a Reply

